No.86 Apron of Putting Green
 

 
In stroke play, a player's ball comes to rest on the apron (fringe) of the putting green. A large amount of sand has been splashed out of the bunker and lies on both the apron and the putting green.

Question 1:
May a player remove sand that lies on the apron of the green that is on their line of play?

Question 2:
May a player remove sand that lies on the putting green that is on their line of play?

Question 3:
If a player moves their ball while removing sand that is on the apron of the putting green what is the ruling?

Answer 1:
No.

Answer 2:
Yes.

Answer 3:
The player incurs a total penalty of two strokes. Rule 13-2.

Definition of Loose Impediments;
Sand and loose soil are loose impediments on the putting green, but not elsewhere.
Note: A single act resulted in two Rules being breached; removing sand from the apron of the putting green and causing the ball to move. Part of Decision 1-4/12 rules that in these circumstances only one penalty applies.
__________
 


Question 4:
A player's ball comes to rest on the apron of the green. In order to identify it she moves it slightly to check her identification mark and returns it to the exact spot without taking her finger from the ball. What is the ruling?

Answer 4:
The player is penalised one stroke.

Note: If a player has reason to believe a ball at rest is theirs and it is necessary to move the ball in order to identify it, they may lift the ball, without penalty, in order to do so. However, to avoid incurring a penalty under Rule 18-2b(i) they must follow the procedure laid down in Rule 12-2;
Before lifting the ball, the player must announce his intention to his opponent in match play or his marker or a fellow-competitor in stroke play and mark the position of the ball. He may then lift the ball and identify it, provided that he gives his opponent, marker or fellow-competitor an opportunity to observe the lifting and replacement. The ball must not be cleaned beyond the extent necessary for identification when lifted under Rule 12-2.

Another 'Rhodes Rules School' Q&A will follow next week,
 
Good golfing,